The Geraint Morris and J. Layton Watkins Memorial Awards

Information about the 2018 competitions is available HERE .

Festival Of Massed Male Choirs

Royal Albert Hall - Saturday 19th May 2018


Thanks to everyone who contributed to the success of the Festival of Massed Male Voices at the Royal Albert Hall, London on Saturday 19th May 2018.

The Massed Choir of over 750 voices of member choirs from across the Principality and UK was under the direction of Dr. Alwyn Humphreys, accompanied by Caradog Williams on the piano with Huw Tregelles Williams, the Association President, on the organ.

The Massed Choir comprised of members the following choirs: Abertillery Orpheus, Beaufort, Bois Goetre-Hen, Bois y Castell, Bois y Felin, Bro Dysynni, Burry Port, Caldicot, Cambrian, Cwmann, De Cymru, Dyffryn Aman, Flint, Haverfordwest, Mansfield, Morriston RFC, Mynydd Mawr, Ogmore Valley, Oxford Welsh, Pembroke & District, Pontnewydd, Rhayader, Rhymney Silurian, Snowdown Colliery, Swansea, Tenby, Tonna and Whitland & District.  

The concert soloists, who were in fine voice, were previous winners of the Geraint Morris Memorial Award - Rhydian Jenkins (2015), Ffion Edwards (2016) and Samantha Oxborough (2017).  The other supporting artists are 'Bella Voce' - a ladies choir from Pembrokeshire - who left the stage to a standing ovation.
Joe Cavalli-Price, who won the inaugural J. Layton Watkins Memorial Award in 2017 for accompanists/conductors, was also on stage and accompanied the choir when it performed 'Shenandoah' in the second half of the concert. 


Phil signs off on a high note.....


There is little doubt that the 2018 event created happy memories for everyone present and none more so than Stage Manager, Phil Lloyd (Pembroke MVC) who also compered the evening.

It was Phil's last concert after being involved in the organisation of the event for the last 30 years and he was suitably recognised for his long service with the presentation of a commemorative plaque at the end of the evening.

The plaque was presented by the Association's General Secretary, Arthur Brady (right).

The Festival was recorded with CD's and DVD's now available. They are not on sale in shops or on line. 

Further information about the CD's and DVD's is available by e-mail to